Goodbye Victor J #RIP

victor jantjies rip

The trainees, volunteers and staff of Bush Radio are saddened to announce the passing of our colleague and friend, Victor Jantjies.

We were informed early this morning by his family that Victor passed away in his sleep

We are unable to find the words right now to express the loss we feel of this wonderful person who brought light to station.

Victor joined Bush Radio in 1996 as a trainee from a media project and worked in various areas in the station. He is best remembered by listeners as the voice of the Breakfast Rush and Morning Cruise but he also served in various areas “behind the scenes”

Most recently Victor was standing in on the Morning Cruise and responsible for technical and music at the station.

We will keep listeners and friends updated to developments via this blog and our Bush Radio facebook groups.

Please feel free to share you memories of Victor here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Goodbye Victor J #RIP”

  1. Tracey Naughton Says:

    Victor, it was amazing to see you in action over so many years and especially last December when I visited South Africa and Bush Radio. I was delighted to find you in the music room with that bright shiny smile. Vale!

  2. Bronwen Says:

    Victor was one of the first people to phone me on my 21st to wish me happy birthday in air. I will never forget him. He was always so cheerful and such a force. I loved working with him. Rest in Peace V xx

  3. Sarahlouise Duffy Says:

    Such an amazing person for the short time I knew him!😢
    Rest in peace Victor!
    Thinking of every one at this sad time! X

  4. Nigel Vermaas Says:

    I am stunned! It seemed to be going so well for Victor. Just over 10 years ago we worked very closely together on the African Radio Dramas. I became very fond of him. And was so glad of his recent return to Bush. My condolences to all. Nigel

  5. dj louder Says:

    Will be sadly missed. R.i.P. Deepest condolences to the family.

  6. Anthea Mitchell Pearce Says:

    I chatted to him via fb about two weeks ago. We went on about how awesome us libra’s are as we both October babies. Farewell fellow Libra. Rest peacefully dear friend.

  7. Thohera fagodien Says:

    This man was just that person I no him 7 years was on his show for my commenity and ever since then we were friends couldn’t believe when I got the call this morning just makes me sad th

  8. Stephanie Says:

    Since the first day that Victor call me to wish a happy birthday that was 2009 iv been listening to the radio station and become part of the morning crew family that use to call in and just took part in the topics of the day. Its been like that for years. I personally met Victor one xmas and had the privilege to get to know him off air… I Wil never forget the amazing full of life person he was. Always putting a smile on your face when you least expect it….. Your memory Wil live on forever. It was just last week when we chatted to each other finding out how life is ect. Most amazing radio presenter I know..

  9. Hilaire Akollo Says:

    I am stunned and feel a bit guilty to respond only now as I was away and out of contact. I can’t believe this happened. Victor, I will never forget our crazy times and other stuff together and will sorely miss you. May you rest in peace.

  10. Tim Smith Says:

    What sad news – only now in September getting here. Victor was always full of good energy, advice and humour when I worked there in 2000. He must be so missed.

Leave a Reply

